SRQ MEDIA Inducts New Leadership Circle at Together We Roar Luncheon

[Sarasota, FL]  SRQ MEDIA, powered by the Women Who Roar Initiative, hosted the 6th Annual Women Who Roar: Together We Roar Leadership and Awards Luncheon on Friday May 13, 2022 at the Hyatt Regency Sarasota. The Women Who Roar Initiative was formed nine years ago as a year-round program engaging the participants in the annual Women Who Roar Competition to create highly-dynamic personal networking that catalyzes positive community engagement through the science and art of mentorship among the generations of women who call our area home.

“We know how powerful personal relationships are in cultivating and empowering change,” says SRQ MEDIA CEO and President Lisl Liang. “The Women Who Roar Initiative serves to provide authentic, memorable mentorship experiences that create connective tissue within our community of passionate women and ultimately strengthen our mission to Live Local. Love Local.”

As women representing diverse professional industries in Sarasota and Manatee Counties reconnected with one another for the first time since the most recent pre-pandemic luncheon in 2019, Liang took the stage and welcomed the more than 260 guests and honorees who were nominated during the years of 2020, 2021 and 2022 and expressed gratitude for being able to gather in person once again after a two year hiatus. 

Steve Altier of Seaside National Bank & Trust, a champion partner/sponsor of the event spoke next and shared his thoughts about the importance of  mentorship before turning the stage over to Keynote Guest Speaker, Kathy Kristof, Editor/Founder and CEO of With a significant career in financial investigative journalism, Kristof has formed her company to navigate a safe financial space for freelancers by presenting ways to make money in the gig economy.

Trailblazer Award Recipient, Cyma Zarghami spoke next. Zarghami is the CEO/Founder of Mimo Studios, a female-owned and operated media company that specializes in kids and family content spanning live action, animation and preschool and former  president of the Nickelodeon franchise.

At the awards ceremony, the following 17 new ambassadors were inducted into the Women Who Roar Leadership Circle, resulting in many smiles and lots of hugs:

Marianne Chapel

Taylor Collins

Cheri Coryea

Julie Deffense

Aurilla (Dee Dee) Fusco

Jane Gill Watt

Roxie Jerde

Jennifer Johnston

Victoria Kasdan

Melissa Larkin-Skinner

Meg Lowman

Kristie O’Kon

Carol Probstfeld

Dr. Bridget Ratner

Casey Siljestrom

Terri Syros

Judy Wang

The Leadership Circle Ambassadors of the Women Who Roar Initiative engage in curated mentorship programming throughout the year including SkillSHARE: Mentorship at the Speed of Life and SMARTgirls: Futures and Mentorship Summit.

For more information, we invite you to visit SRQMAG.COM.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s